There Are No Rules For Girls Watching Football or Guys Watching Housewives

After another Sunday filled with cursing, yelling, and frustration from watching the New England Patriots game, I decided to see if I could find some sort of news source that football fanatic girls like me could relate to. Instead, I found this article on Glamour called, “What Men Want: 9 Rules For Watching Football With Guys”. I decided to give it a chance and read on.

After I finished this article I decided on one thing: I could have saved that author a lot of time. There is ONE RULE for girls watching football. IF THEY DON’T LIKE FOOTBALL DON’T INVITE THEM TO WATCH A FOOTBALL GAME. 

Look, I will be the first to admit that sometimes all I want to do is run my hands through Tom Brady’s hair. Up until a few years ago I had no idea what a first down was and the only position I knew was the quarterback. I was the obnoxious girl who asked what a wide receiver was and complained that the game was too long.

But I stand here today as a changed woman. I can’t get enough football. It’s not all about the tight pants, but about the fourth down conversions and TD passes. Okay, the tight pants are still a plus. As a dedicated football fan now I can tell you straight up I can’t stand watching games with people who don’t like and don’t get it.

So guys, don’t invite the obnoxious girls or the bandwagon fans to watch the game with you. I don’t care how desperate you are, watching football is not the place to invite the annoying girl you are trying to pursue. Not only will they irritate you but it will piss off everyone around you that is trying to enjoy the game. Trust me, my own parents don’t let me watch Patriots games anymore with them because of how intense I get. If my own parents won’t watch football games with me, you certainly don’t have to invite little Miss “I only like the colors of the team uniforms” to watch the game.

Ladies, same thing goes for inviting guys to watch Real Housewives, this is our football. Just don’t do it!  They might agree to watch it with you just to impress you but save them and yourself the time. They just don’t understand that there are different seasons for different regions and some are just better than others. I personally like The Real Housewives of Orange County the best, but I know plenty of girls who like The Real Housewives of New Jersey so much more.

We all know it is a staged reality show, but the drama and cat fights make it that much more of a guilty pleasure. We have our favorite cast members from different seasons just like guys have favorite players from different teams. We all try to guess what is going to happen next week based on the previews, and guys look at stats and past games to try to predict who will win on Sunday.

So my message is plain and simple. If they don’t like something don’t invite them. Watching his favorite team for four hours every Sunday or making him watch the housewives go out to dinner won’t solve anything. It will just make you both more annoyed with each other. So just don’t do it.

Stay classy,

Hannah Melton

Leave a Reply

